What are Different Types of Taxes in the Uk?

3 minutes, 27 seconds Read

Taxes are collected by many types of bodies within the UK. The most familiar type is the income tax. This is calculated on an individual’s or family’s wages, profits, and income. In addition, it may be calculated on business revenues as well as any other type of non-personal revenues. A typical levy is either a personal tax or an indirect tax. There are three different classifications of UK taxes: basic tax, Excise tax, and Capital Gains Tax.


Basic Taxes 

Basic taxes are things like income tax. Excise taxes are indirect taxes that are meant to compensate for a tax that has not been paid. There are several different types of basic tax. Excise taxes include things like stamp duty, which is charged when one buys certain tangible items like property or goods. Another thing that falls under the Excise tax category are vehicle jacking, where a person gets his car impounded and does not have to pay taxes on it after release. There are also Excise taxes that are charged in things like dividends and interest.


Types of Indirect Taxes

Many types of indirect taxes can also be calculated in the UK. These include taxes on importation and exportation, which are implemented in things like the customs and excise administration. Excise duties are not paid on some purchases made by United Kingdom residents, such as food and drink, but are collected by the local governments on behalf of the federal government in order to support their national budget.


Annual Income Tax

A large portion of the UK’s annual income tax proceeds are collected through the UK’s system of indirect taxes. Excise duties do not reach the Internal Revenue Service, the government department in charge of collecting federal income taxes. The Scottish government uses taxes from the oil production sector to support its budget. In England, there are also direct taxes, which are collected by the central government. The tax system in the United States is complex and much more complicated. That is why it is not surprising that many Americans do not fully understand income tax and its implications.


Types of Taxes

The main reason why the UK has different types of taxes is because they are decentralized at both the local levels and at the federal level. Local levels consist of cities, counties and individual towns and cities. Federal levels go from the federal capital, London, to the local levels. At the local levels, many different bodies, such as school districts, city halls and village boards collect local taxes. Some states also have their own individual forms of income taxes.


Income Taxes are Collected by Many Different Government Agencies

These include the Internal Revenue Service, state and local police departments, state university boards and colleges, and several other different types of government agencies. Some taxes collected by the government are referred to as tariffs while other types of taxes are called regressive levies.


One Type of Regressive Levy is Estate Taxes

Estate taxes are based on how much money a person makes, and then they determine whether or not to charge a tax on the inheritance. If the amount of money a person makes is less than a certain threshold, then no tax will be charged on the inheritance. This is called a threshold gift tax. If the amount of money a person makes is more than the threshold amount, then the estate tax will be applied.



There are also taxes that are based on how much a person makes and also determine what kind of tax they will charge. These taxes include income taxes and property taxes. The former is actually the responsibility of the federal government while the latter is the responsibility of the local government. Many people believe that these taxes are not very much different from property taxes. Although both of these taxes do affect how a person earns his or her income, only income taxes give the tax collector the ability to take the proceeds from the sale of a person’s property. Property taxes are based on what a person’s actual worth is to the tax authority.

Similar Posts